Subscribe to Newsletter(s)

Culture Department



ASEF promotes cultural relations based on fair exchange and reciprocity. ASEF’s work in culture connects artists, cultural professionals, non-profit arts organisations, networks & museums in the 51 countries that are part of the Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM).


ASEF provides access to information on arts, culture & heritage. We promote mutual cultural practice by supporting face-to-face encounters and opportunities for mutual learning among artists and cultural professionals (through travel grants and capacity-building workshops). We facilitate conversations between the arts communities in Asia and Europe. We also support multi-stakeholder dialogue between civil society and government agencies responsible for culture, both at UNESCO and through the Culture Ministers’ Meetings of the Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) dialogue forum.


ASEF’s work in culture contributes to implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, particularly SDGs 4.4 (skills for employment), 5.5 (women’s leadership), 10 a (preferential treatment), 10.7 (mobility of people), 11 a (strengthening urban-periphery links), 11.4 (safeguarding heritage), 16.10 (access to information), & 17.17 (civil society partnerships).



Our current pillars & projects are:

Providing access to information


Supporting mutual cultural practice


Facilitating conversations


Special projects in support of the Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM):


Main wheel SDG

Currently, ASEF is a stakeholder member of the Association of the Compendium of Cultural Policies and Trends; a member of On The Move mobility information platform; and, an affiliate member of the International Federation of Arts Councils & Culture Agencies (IFACCA).


Follow us at:       #ASEFculture #ASEFculture360 #MobilityFirst #ASEFunplugged 

                             #ASEMcmm #ASEMfest

Facebook:           @AsiaEuropeFoundation   @culture360

Twitter:                @aseforg                              @culture360_asef


Send an email to the Culture Department

Team Members